The Criminal Justice Blog

Home » Ministry of Justice » My statement today outside Petty France

My statement today outside Petty France

faith-spear-20161121_131057

Today, the Ministry of Justice has left me with no alternative than to take more robust action in the public interest.

Officials in Petty France have brought a disciplinary hearing against me. They accuse me of misconduct as a result of speaking out for prison reform.

An investigation into my behaviour was conducted at tax payers’ expense and brings into question my independence and my integrity. I am woman volunteering with the Independent Monitoring Board and I hold a public office.

The Ministry of Justice has chosen to disregard the evidence I provided of real misconduct including leaked emails between others in the Independent Monitoring Board.

This just scratches the surface and is a matter of substantial public interest.

Therefore, in front of the disciplinary panel and without permission for legal representation, I will disclose why the decision of the then prisons minister Andrew Selous MP six months ago was based on a prejudicial character assassination of me by those who want me to shut up and go away.

I am not shutting up.
I am not going away.

Our prisons are in crisis and prison reform is taking too long.

 

3 Comments

  1. STUART says:

    Hi Faith

    I am thinking of applying to join IMB for HMP Woodhill – Alex Cavendish suggested I speak to you. I am on twitter or sbenzie@2tg.co.uk

  2. […] am already on the record as saying “The Ministry of Justice has left me with no alternative than to take more robust […]

  3. Keely A says:

    So proud of you for speaking the truth, my partner is inside for a crime he didn’t do. He has a serious long term illness and has rapidly deteriorated since going in. He’s been over looked by prison and healthcare in place. They are potentially killing him. Education classes been cut, 18 year olds as guards with no life skills or compassion. They power trip over these men and then wonder why prisoners riot. Very much like you I refuse to be quiet about changes that’s needed and the truth does need to be heard. Thank you for speaking out. God bless you

Leave a Reply

